Tooth & Nail Cosmetics – Sailor Moon Palette and Highlighter Review ✰

I have to be honest – I received these items back in March when I originally planned on starting this blog, but as you can tell, I didn’t start until recently.  I ordered these pieces back in January and didn’t receive them until the first week of March.  The turn around time was about a month and a half.  At first, the owner, Hannah Foote was prompt to replying the first time I inquired about my order because I hadn’t heard an update (her reason was that the original compacts were horrible quality and she wasn’t happy with them).  I ordered the Sailor Moon Eyeshadow Palette and the Sailor Moon Highlighter “Moon”.  Both are currently sold out, but Tooth & Nail currently have other Sailor Moon highlighters up for sale it looks like.

Before I get too far into this review, I just wanted to say I let my excitement over having the option to get Sailor Moon themed cosmetics in the States get the best of me when I initially ordered these two.  The company’s only disclaimer is that they don’t own Sailor Moon, but I highly urge if you’re able to (whether through a proxy service or able to order directly) to order licensed Sailor Moon cosmetic products.

IMG_7644

To start off, I was not impressed with the packaging at all.  They are literally a palette/compact with stickers slapped onto them.  There’s also no sticker on the back of the eyeshadow palette saying which color is which (the pictures on the site showed this part) so often I have to refer to the site to find out which shade I’m using.  The plastic is thin and cheap; and the stickers aren’t even centered properly onto either.  After being told that my order was delayed because they had to order new compacts because the first shipment was bad, I was extremely disappointed.

IMG_7648

As you can see, it’s somewhat (okay pretty) obvious, that the shadows were pressed and dried using a paper towel.  I had read that the finished pieces are often rushed and sloppy, but I wanted to make my own conclusion.  As you can see, the red shade (which according to the site is Sailor Mars) is chipped.  When I initially received the palette, that part had crumbled and come loose, so it’s safe to say the shadows are pretty fragile so you shouldn’t press down hard on them.  Better yet, just use your finger and gently swipe a few times.

IMG_7652

 

Sailor Mars is patchy at best, Sailor Neptune is not the metallic navy that it is described as, and Sailor Venus is really the saving grace shadow of the entire palette.  I couldn’t get Sailor Jupiter to swatch probably without being patchy without several swipes.  Sailor Pluto does have a nice flip to it and did swatch somewhat smoothly.

To say the least, I was not impressed with this palette, but I do like Sailor Venus.  It’s a wonderful peachy champagne shade you can use for a rose gold look.  Still, not worth the $34.

Moving onto the highlighter.

IMG_7646

I tried to give this one a shot.  I tried so hard and I was so disappointed (as you can tell I used it for about a week straight before I gave up).  The compact is incredibly cheap feeling and there doesn’t seem to be a lot of product for the price paid ($14).  In the compact and in person, it also looks nothing like it does on the site, so it seems there may be variation in formulas.  On occasion, I came across darker pink streaks in the highlighter and it’s not advertised as a “marbled” highlighter; so to me it seems as those it was mixed and dried very hastily.

IMG_7650

It’s a “pinky gold” highlighter that when swatched is very similar to the Sailor Venus shade to be honest and that took a few swipes to get that much to show up.  The best way to apply it would probably be with a brush (maybe Moda’s Prismatic Oval highlighter brush) as fingers and regular highlighter/glow brushes don’t seem to pick it up very well.

All in all, I’m not exactly impressed.  I’ve stopped using the highlighter and I’ve only used the eyeshadow palette once (for Sailor Venus shade).  I welcome you to try Tooth & Nail Cosmetics, but just be wary of what you might get and to be prepared for the turn around time.

Stay gilded, foxes!

Tooth & Nail Cosmetics – Sailor Moon Palette and Highlighter Review ✰

Leave a comment